# MINUTES Formal Session 1: Saturday 1 July at 2.30 AEST

### YM23.1: Welcome to Country

MINUTE:

The Presiding Clerk, Bruce Henry, invited Harald Ehmann, a member of the First Nations Peoples Concerns Committee, to introduce Ken Lechleitner and Deborah Buckskin to us, and they welcomed us to Country.

A period of silent worship followed Ken Lechleitner's and Deborah Buckskin's Welcome.

A Minute of Record will be brought to Formal Session 2.

## YM23.2: Welcome to those participating in Yearly Meeting

MINUTE:

The Presiding Clerk welcomed Members and Attenders, and first-time participants to Yearly Meeting.

He also welcomed international visitors to YM23 joining us online: Margaret Calvert Manchester & Warrington Area Meeting, Britain Yearly Meeting. and the Representative from Aotearoa New Zealand Yearly Meeting, Saskia Schuitemaker.

YM Assistant Clerk, Lorel Thomas, read a Letter of Introduction for Saskia from A/NZ YM Co-Clerks Anne and Alistair Hall.

A full list of those registered for YM23 will be included in *Documents in Retrospect 2023*.

# YM23.3: Opening period of silent worship

MINUTE:

During a period of worship the Presiding Clerk read the following: Endless Ocean, by Rumi

Everything you see has its roots
In the unseen world.
The forms may change,
Yet the essence remains the same.
Every wonderful sight will vanish,
Every sweet word will fade,
But do not be disheartened,
The source they come from is eternal,
Growing, branching out,
Giving new life and new joy.
Why do you weep?

That source is within you And this whole world Is springing up from it. The Source is full, Its waters are ever-flowing;
Do not grieve,
Drink your fill!
Don't think it will ever run dry,
This is the endless Ocean

# YM23.4: Formal Session Items - Explanation of Procedure by Presiding Clerk

The Presiding Clerk explained the process for the Formal Sessions, and alerted Friends to the Timetable and Daily Notices on the YM23 website.

### YM23.5: Appointments for the duration of Yearly Meeting

Yearly Meeting approves the appointment of the Assistant Clerk – Lorel Thomas (VRM) and Recording Clerk – Sieneke Martin (VRM) for YM23.

Yearly Meeting approves the names of those appointed by their Regional Meetings as Elders for the duration of YM23:

CRQ: Lorraine Thomson, Wilma Davidson

NSWRM: Rose Griffith, Helen Gould, Peter Hillery

QRM: Renee Ellerton, Patricia Johnson

SANTRM: Julie Webb

TRM: Jen Newton, Drew Thomas, Kevin Sheldon.

VRM: Gerry Fahey and Sue Parritt

WARM: Brenda Rov

Rainbow Friends: Shannon Ormiston

Yearly Meeting approves the names of those appointed by their Regional Meetings as Pastoral Carers:

CRQ: Susan Rockliff

NSWRM: Therese Douglas, Ann Britton

QRM: Greg Rolles, Marian James

SANTRM: Topsy Evans, Elizabeth Magarey, Jo Jordan

TRM: Margaret Bywater, Jan Blakeney VRM: Tessa Spratt and Heather Stuart WARM: Lesli Grant, Grace Davis Rainbow Friends: Jess Donaghue

We note that due to the online environment for YM23:

- Pastoral Care Committee will be the first contact point for any Safe Quaker Community matters.
- The AYM Child Protection Committee, Ronis Chapman and Lorraine Thomson, will be the first point of contact for Child Protection concerns.

Yearly Meeting approves the names of Liz Field, Michael Corbett, and Bevianne Fitch as Minute Checkers for YM23.

Yearly Meeting approves the names of Susan Rockliff, Maxine Cooper and Jenny Seaton to be our Epistle writers for the YM23 Epistle.

Yearly Meeting notes that The State of the Society address will be given by Mark Macleod (TRM) in Formal Session 1 and the Summary of Epistles will be given by Elizabeth PO' (WARM) in Formal Session 2.

Yearly Meeting notes the names of those not in membership who have been approved to attend YM23 by their Regional Meeting:

**CRQ:** Ken Hird, Possum Hodgkin, Stephen Hodgkin, Carol Thornton, Raina, Ian, Rob & Daniel Emerson, Erik Jochimsen, Tim Hassall

**NSWRM:** Gordon Brown, Paul Carter, Lisa Geiger, Brooke Goetz, Marilyn Hillery, Mary Hinchcliffe, Marion Hooper, Julie Jameson, Nick Mead, Jasmine Payget, Danny Ryan, Justin Simpson

QRM: Martin Kealey, Harry McConnell, Helen Webb, Gabriele Wit

SANTRM: nil

TRM: Karen Dedenczuk, Sofia Jones, Biddy Searl, Lucy Slevin, Steve Smith, Tara Ulbrich

**VRM:** Eneko Axford, Claudia Barduhn, Elaine Henry, Anne Herbert, Meg Kimber, Renata Officer, Abby Nancy, Belinda Hann, Lee Whelan, Louis Terallick

WARM: Elizabeth Nicholas, Grace Davis

Rainbow Friends: Annie Brady, Chris Phillips, Em Chandler, Jess Donaghue, Shannon Ormiston.

### YM23.6: Items for Noting

Yearly Meeting notes that the YM23 Clerking Team will bring these Items to future Formal Sessions to ensure that they appear in the records of Yearly Meeting. Yearly Meeting notes that the following are available on the YM23 website and can be viewed by Friends. They will come to a later Business Session:

- a) Testimonies
- b) Statements of behalf of Australia Yearly Meeting
- c) Reports from YM23 Preparatory and Explanatory Sessions
- d) Documents in Advance Reports which have no PART Bs
- e) Nominations Committee Report

The Presiding Clerk reminded Friends that the YM23 Epistle draft will be on the YM23 website for comments:

www.quakersaustralia.info/yearly-meeting-2023/ym23-business/ym23-epistle

Friends are encouraged to access the YM23 website and note the scheduled agenda items for each Formal Session.

## YM23.7: The State of the Society Address

The Presiding Clerk introduced Mark Macleod of Tasmania Regional Meeting, who then delivered The State of the Society Address.

A Minute of Record for The State of the Society Address will be presented to Formal Session 2.

The formal session closed with a period of silent worship.